Opinions wanted on my book cover lamination! :)

Mon, Dec 8 2014 08:36pm GMT 1
jamesfinegan
jamesfinegan
3 Posts

Hello there!

I am currently planning on going down the traditional publishing route, but will soon be self-publishing for friends, family and a few select others.

I am planning to print via Print on Demand Worldwide.

I am very new to this, and know very little about the printing world. Some opinions from some of you who have self-published would be greatly appreciated.

Do you believe that my covers below would look best if finished with glossy or matt lamination? And do you have any reasons why?

Again, thank so very much to anybody that can help me out.

James.

1.jpg

2.jpg
Sun, Jan 18 2015 08:09pm GMT 2
Philippa
Philippa
1584 Posts
Looks good!

I'd say Matt if you want it to look older and more "classic", gloss if you want it to look more modern and new.

But this is simply my own ideas, as I have no professional expertise in this!
Mon, Jan 19 2015 08:48am GMT 3
RedRuth
RedRuth
384 Posts

Oh what fabulous images.

I would say the visual texture of these images lends itself to a matt finish.

Isn’t soft matt finish more ‘in’ at the moment too?

Sun, Nov 8 2015 05:28pm GMT 4
Daisy White
Daisy White
275 Posts
These are fab - I will add my vote to the matt version!
Sun, Nov 8 2015 06:42pm GMT 5
Giselle
Giselle
2992 Posts
Hello James.

Gloss makes the colors stand out more and is traditionally used to attract attention. But it takes fingerprints. With your cover (great, btw), I don't think this would be a problem. The difference between the two (gloss vs. matt) is just a plastic film applied after printing, which also strengthens the cover and protects it.

I'd personally go for gloss. Now you have 2 votes either way. Sorry! Cool
Mon, Nov 9 2015 08:36am GMT 6
Tim Franks
Tim Franks
298 Posts