Relieving Stress!! Short story - would love some feedback.

Mon, Apr 9 2018 04:47pm IST 1
Leon
Leon
15 Posts

This is the first piece of writing i've ever submitted to anywhere. I'm very new to writing and have spent the last couple of years trying to write a novel.

This piece is taken from a much larger work. It might not be the strongest thing i've written, but i just wanted to put it up to get me started.

Any tips or pointers. The flow, the content, the structure. The overall feel?

Any feedback would be great.

Frank and Lisa.

He just wants an easy life.

She just wants something better.

Frank is sitting, cross legged on the floor, staring into Lisa eyes. Lisa is sitting opposite him, in exactly the same position. She is the mirror image of Frank and she's staring back into his eyes.

He's talking to her, telling her that she needs to relax a bit and she should start by calming her nerves. Then they can begin.

She's constantly refused his advise up until now, and now they're here re-aligning their chakras as Frank puts it.

He can tell that she's sceptical. He can see that she isn't taking this seriously. But he's keeping calm. It's taken him ages to get her this far, he needs to follow this through. To do this, he needs to keep her thoughts out of his mind. It's too confusing.

But he can't help noticing her head, shaking the way it is. Like when she disapproves of something, a sort of mocking gesture.

Ok, he's calm.

Quite rightly, she thinks that he’s gone mad. He seems to be getting progressively weirder as the years go by. Recently, she's even started to tell her friends. She says things like, 'he never used to be like this', she tells them, 'he used to be normal'.

He thinks that she's become a snob. She thinks that he's turned into some else.